Team-member recognition – a sign of the society’s successes this year

Author: Hanif Osman, outgoing Co-President

TEDxLSE committee members were generously recognised for their contributions to the society at the LSESU’s STARS Awards Ceremony, on Monday 20th March 2017.

Co-President, Amaima Fatima, won an ‘LSESU: Honorary Lifetime Member’ award. This is ”the highest award that the Students’ Union can bestow upon an LSE student and means that the individual is given lifetime membership of the Students’ Union… [for] those who have displayed continuous outstanding contribution for achievement across a broad range of Union activities.”

Amaima’s involvement in TEDxLSE over the past two years, last year as Events Director (2015-16), this year as Co-President (2016-17), was key to the achievement. However, Amaima has also served in a variety of other positions at LSE. Amaima sat on the LSE’s Court of Governors last year (2015-16), assisted with ISOC’s Charity Week last year (2015-16), and was Events Officer of the Pakistan Society (2014-15); all demonstrating her deep commitment to fellow students at LSE.

Meanwhile the society’s secretary, Akmal Rafiq, won an ‘LSESU: Outstanding Contribution’ award. It is to ”reward those who have devoted an enormous amount of their time over the past academic year to Union activities.” Akmal’s huge involvement in TEDxLSE this year, serving as secretary, but also significantly contributing to the training of student speakers and the technical side of things, was integral in this award. Akmal’s additional roles as the hockey club’s 3rd team vice-captain, ‘Discover Islam Week’ helper, and ‘Welcome Week’ volunteer, are all also indicative of his contribution.

Further, TEDxLSE’s Marketing Director, Yo-en Chin, won an ‘Outstanding Society Member’ award. As director of the marketing team, Yo-en has led it in its efforts to push the boundaries of the society’s presence on campus much further. Yo-en was also Secretary of Global Brigades at LSE this year, too.

A special ‘thank you’ goes also to Megha Thakker, the society’s outgoing Creative Director, who has worked tirelessly throughout the year to ensure that the creative and representational aspects of the conference were a success.

Particular recognition is also extended to Speakers Associate Rishav Das. Rishav enthusiastically trained student speakers throughout the year, in addition to effectively curating speakers for the conference in March.

Indeed, all committee members deserve the deepest thanks for all their work throughout the year, and they have all contributed a great deal to the society in different ways. Other committee members not already mentioned, and who have done an excellent job, include: Julia Cournoyer (Speakers Director), Laure Boissat (Events Director), Ryan Chin (Treasurer), Orane Stepczynski (Sponsorship Director), Fadekemi Abiru (Website Editor), Salvador Pitta Gouveia (Marketing Associate), Yusuf Amanullah (Events Associate), Jerome Greutmann (Speakers Associate), Jessica-Anna Peters (Speakers Associate), Tess Farmer (Marketing Associate), Ana Vergara (Sponsorship Associate), Asligul Armagan (Events Associate), Hippolyte Genet (Sponsorship Associate), Manya Grover (Events Associate), Dickson Lam (Sponsorship Associate), Netra Takwale (Events Associate).